Update to Ubuntu 12.10

I’ve decided to update my ubuntu 12.04 to 12.10 today.

everything went smoothly, and ubuntu 12.10 has now LVM by default !

I had only 3 things to change compared to http://gro.solexiv.de/2012/08/pci-passthrough-howto/

the Xen grub entry is now “Ubuntu GNU/Linux, with Xen hypervisor” instead of “Xen 4.1-amd64”

the link for qemu is now

ln -s /usr/share/qemu-linaro/qemu /usr/share/qemu

and the HVM loader (in the VM configuration) has moved to /usr/lib/xen-4.1/boot/hvmloader

in addition, I had to blacklist radeon driver, otherwise I have a black screen when booting with Xen.

echo “blacklist radeon” >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

I also load xen-pciback module at startup with

echo “xen-picback” >> /etc/modules

and that’s all. (updates took me less than 30min waoww !).

2 responses to “Update to Ubuntu 12.10

  1. Hi
    I’m pretty new to linux as a whole, but I really like the idea of having a VM to play a few games. I was just wondering, do you know if you could simply update from 12.10 to 13.04 in a similar way that you did from 12.04 to 12.10? (with different commands obviously)
    I only have the 1 GPU so couldn’t do a vga passthrough. You just seem to be a wealth of knowledge on the subject so seemed the perfect person to ask.

    • Usually when I said “upgrade” it was in fact an installation of ubuntu 12.10
      I have 2 partitions sda1 and sda2 that I use for “/” and a partition for /home. So when I upgrade, I install the new ubuntu on sda2, using the same /home (so I keep all my config) and when it works well, I can safely delete the old / (on sda1).
      the upgrade process might work, if you have not installed too much things (I think ATI and nvidia proprietary driver are the most likely to breaks upgrade).

Leave a Reply

